Attendees at the fPET2018 event at University of Maryland, College Park, June 1 2018

Attendees at the fPET2018 event at University of Maryland, College Park, June 1 2018

History of the fPET community

The Forum on Philosophy, Engineering & Technology (fPET) is a biennial meeting for philosophers, engineers and other researchers and practitioners related to both fields. The mission of fPET is

  • to encourage reflection on engineering, engineers, and technology and

  • to build bridges between existing organizations of philosophers and of engineers.

fPET follows in the tradition of the 2007 Workshop on Philosophy and Engineering (WPE) at Technical University- Delft. There was second WPE meeting in 2008 at the Royal Academy of Engineering. Rebranding to the current fPET name, a 2010 meeting was held at the Colorado School of Mines, a 2012 meeting at the Graduate University of the Chinese Academy of Sciences in Beijing , in 2014 at Virginia Tech, and in 2016 at Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nuremberg.

Past fPET research has been published through the Springer series on Philosophy of Engineering and Technology (POET). For information on the early WPE meetings and fPETs 2010/2012, see here

The conference leadership team is described on the fPET 2018 page.

fPET2018 will benefit from the broader fPET community, especially the fPET steering committee and program committee. Their names are listed below.

fPET steering committee

  • Richard Evans (Cornell University)

  • Kenneth R. Foster (University of Pennsylvania)

  • David E. Goldberg (ThreeJoy Associates, Inc.)

  • Domenico Grasso (University of Delaware)

  • Rachelle Hollander (U.S. National Academy of Engineering)

  • Diane Michelfelder (Macalester College)

  • Carl Mitcham (Colorado School of Mines)

  • Byron Newberry (Baylor University)

  • Joe Pitt (Virginia Tech)

  • Ibo van de Poel (TU Delft)

  • Jon A. Schmidt (Burns & McDonnell)

  • Cherrice Traver (Union College)

  • Mike Murphy (Dublin Institute of Technology)

  • Natasha McCarthy (Royal Society)

Program Committee

  • Sarah Bell (University College, London)

  • Larry Bucciarelli (MIT)

  • Christelle Didier (Université Charles de Gaulle - Lille 3)

  • Neelke Doorn (TU Delft)

  • ZHU Qin (Colorado School of Mines)

  • Michael Davis (Illinois Institute of Technology)

  • Shannon Conley (James Madison University)

  • Peter Kroes (TU Delft)

  • Amy Cox (Air Force institute of Technology)

  • Yanna Lambrinidou (Virginia Tech)

  • Deborah Johnson (University of Virginia)

  • WANG Nan (University of the Chinese Academy of Sciences)

  • Andrew L. Russell (SUNY Polytechnic Institute)

  • WANG Qian (Dalian University of Technology)

  • Pieter Vermaas (TU Delft)

  • Darryl Farber (Penn State)

  • Matthew Harsh (Concordia)

  • Rider Foley (University of Virginia)

  • Sharlissa Moore (Michigan State University)